Going Gaucho

Friends, I’m building a house in the Andes, becoming a gaucho and living off steak and Malbec for the rest of my days…

20140125-141412.jpg

Well not exactly but after the experience I had in Mendoza, Argentina I could seriously consider changing to a wardrobe of chaps for a few months to soak up those incredible views. I thought the bus ride through the Andes was impressive…

20140125-141520.jpg</

I was even more impressed while riding horseback in the mountains! Our day started with a two hour drive from Mendoza into the mountains to reach Quebrada del Condor, base camp. With each passing kilometer (no miles here) the views became increasingly impressive. First panoramic views of the Andes against a sky of blue. As you got closer you could make out the distinct mountains, each with unique colors of red, green, brown while competing to be higher than the next mountain. Rows of thistle bushes serve as natural barriers on the dirt roads. I would need Wordsworth to truly capture the beauty and emotion of the scenery.

20140125-141621.jpg

Once at camp it was time to get all city slicker and start our horseback riding journey through the Andes. Surprisingly, not all my knowledge of horse-riding as a child had been lost and I only half-awkwardly hoisted myself into the Gaucho saddle- no riding English style here.

The ride was incredible, one of those experiences where editing life down to a backpack and leaving it all behind makes sense.

20140125-141808.jpg</

After 3 hours of riding the soreness started to settle in. The perfect remedy- an Argentina asado! Oh, the beauty of this asado- a true carnivores delight!

20140125-141905.jpg

The meal starts with the most delicious empanadas I’ve had to date: meaty, salty and when washed down with Malbec, just perfection.

20140125-142614.jpg

Next you are presented with an assortment of meat: ribs, sausages and more- a total meatgasm.

20140125-142702.jpg

To top off the amazingness it was on to Malbec poached pears with dulce de leche cream- amazeballs!

20140125-142740.jpg

After a day like this I was ready to spend the rest of my days riding and letting the plaque build up around my arteries and the sodium spike my blood pressure- but what a way to go.

Lucky for my heart I didn’t pursue my afternoon dream of a life of horses and asados but at least I have some spectacular memories to get me through those days of eating salad to counterbalance the meat consumption.

Leave a comment